Plant Canada Board Members 2019-2020

Plant Canada President  

Geoff Wasteneys

Professor and Canada Research Chair in Plant Cell Biology, Department of Botany, University of British Columbia, 6270 University Boulevard, Vancouver, BC, V6T 1Z4

Plant Canada Vice President

Valerie Gravel

Assistant Professor; Department of Plant Science (R2020c), McGill University - Macdonald,  Campus21111 Lakeshore Road, Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, QC H9X3V9

Valerie Gravel 
Plant Canada Past President  

Deena Errampalli

Retired Research Scientist;  34 Elgin St.; Grimsby, ON, L3M 1C6

Plant Canada Secretary  

Rima Menassa

Research Scientist, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, 1391 Sandford Street, London, ON, N5V 4T3

Plant Canada Treasurer

Gayle Jesperson

A/Manager, Plant Health; Plant Pathologist BC Ministry of Agriculture

200-1690 Powick Rd.

Kelowna BC  V1X 7G5

Gayle Jesperson 
Plant Canada Board of Directors
Canadian Society of Plant Biologists (CSPB)
Marcus Samuel
Associate Professor
Integrative Cell Biology (Plant Biology)
BI 392,Department of Biological Sciences
University of Calgary, Alberta, T2N 1N4

Daphne Goring
Robin Cameron

Professor, Department of Biology,  McMaster University, 1280 Main St W, Hamilton Ontario, L8S 4K1


Canadian Botanical Association (CBA)
Julian Starr

Biology Department, University of Ottawa, 30 Marie Curie, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, K1N 6N5.


Moira Galway

Biology Department, St. Francis Xavier University,
2320 Notre Dame Ave.,
Antigonish, Nova Scotia
B2G 2W5,

Canadian Phytopathology Society (CPS)
Lone Buchwaldt
Research Scientist, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canad, 107 Science Place, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, S7N 0X2
Dilantha Fernando

Sheau-Fang Hwang

Professor, Faculty of Agricultural Life and Environmental Sciences, Department of Agricultural Food and Nutritional Science, University of Alberta, 1-32A, Agriculture/Forestry Centre, 9011 - 116 St NW
Edmonton, AB
Canada T6G 2P5

Canadian Weed Science Society (CWSS)
Rory Degenhardt (2nd Vice-President)
Dow AgroSciences Canada Inc.
Edmonton, AB, T6R 3G2


Andrew McKenzie-Gopsill

Research Scientist,  Charlottetown Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, 440 University Ave, Charlottetown, PEI, C1A 4N6


Canadian Society of Agronomy (CSA)

Andrew Burt

Research Scientist, Ottawa Research and Development Centre Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, 960 Carling Ave, Ottawa ON K1A 0C6


Sheri Strydhorst

Agronomy Research Scientist, Department of Agricultural, Food and Nutritional Sciences, University of Alberta, 3401 TwpRd 622, County of Barrhead, AB T0G 1R1

Canadian Society for Horticultural Science (CSHS)
Youbin Zheng

Professor, 50 Stone Road East, Bovey Building Room 2220, University of Guelph,Guelph, ON, N1G 2W

Valérie Gravel

Department of Plant Science (R2020c)
McGill University - Macdonald Campus
21111 Lakeshore Road
Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, QC H9X3V9

Canadian Association for Plant Biotechnology (CAPB)

Susanne Kohalmi

Department of Biology, Western Science Center, Western University, London, Ontario, N6A 5B7

Susanne Kohalmi

Sangeeta Dhaubhadel

Research Scientist, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, 1391 Sandford Street, London, ON, N5V 4T3

Plant Canada Social Media and Web Site
 Shahrokh Khanizadeh